Vibia Perpetua was a MIGHTY warrior for Jesus.! Her testimony is SO inspiring. It brings tears to my eyes to read about all what happened to her, and her faith was STRONG to the end.
She can truly say ,"I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:" (2 Timothy 4:7).
Are we willing to give our very lives for Jesus? I KNOW I am! Like it says in Philippians 1:21, "For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain." If all we're living for is Christ anyways, dying is just a GAIN! Jesus is worth it all, and if I have to die for Him, SO BE IT! I will be a willing vessel for my Beloved, and King, through the power of his Holy Spirit. AMEN!

"The Holy Ghost has inspired me to pray for nothing but patience under my sorrows and pains of life."
Vibia Perpetua

A Martyr's Death:

Vibia Perpetua was a young woman of noble birth. She was twenty-two, a wife, a mother of a young son and a Christian. In the city of Carthage in North Africa on March 7 of the year 203 she was put to death for her religious convictions. Her story comes to us from three eyewitness accounts written shortly after her death.

Perpetua was one of five Christians condemned to death in the arena. One of her companions, Felicitas, was a slave and eight months pregnant. Two days before her execution she gave birth to a daughter. Pepetua's father was a pagan and came often to the prison (many times with Perpetua's son in his arms) to plead with his daughter to renounce her religion and save her life - to no avail.

On March 7 Perpetua and her four companions were led to the arena where the crowd demanded they be scourged. Then a boar, a bear and a leopard were loosened upon the men while the women were attacked by a wild bull. Wounded, Perpetua was then put to the sword.

"When I was in the hands of the persecutors, my father in his tender solicitude tried hard to pervert me from the faith.

'My father,' I said, 'you see this pitcher. Can we call it by any other name than what it is?'

'No,' he said.

'Nor can I' [I said], 'call myself by any other name than that of Christian.'

So he went away, but, on the rumor that we were to be tried, wasted away with anxiety.

A Victim in the Arena
From a Roman Mosaic
'Daughter,' he said, 'have pity on my gray hairs; have pity on thy father. Do not give me over to disgrace. Behold thy brothers, thy mother, and thy aunt: behold thy child who cannot live without thee. Do not destroy us all.'

Thus spake my father, kissing my hands, and throwing himself at my feet. And I wept because of my father, for he alone of all my family would not rejoice in my martyrdom. So I comforted him, saying:

'In this trial what God determines will take place. We are not in our own keeping, but in God's.' So he left me - weeping bitterly.

[Perpetua and another Christian woman, Felicitas, were tossed and gored by a bull; but despite cruel manglings yet survived. Perpetua, says a sympathizing recorder] seemed in a trance. 'When are we to be tossed?' she asked, and could scarcely be induced to believe that she had suffered, in spite of the marks on her body. [They were presently stabbed to death by gladiators] after having exhorted the others to 'stand fast in the faith and love one another,' she guided to her own throat the uncertain hand of the young gladiator."

Wow. Wow. Wow. Is that awesome or what? I hope those words encouraged and inspired you all. KEEP THE FAITH! I love you all.
Your sis in Christ and His warrior,
~Honour Purity<3



Leave a Reply.

    Hey! I'm Honour Purity, just a teenaged young lady who LOVES the Lord Jesus Christ with everything in me.
    I'm The Lord's Warrior,
    and I LOVE witnessing for my Saviour! <3<3<3
    I hope you are encouraged and blessed by reading my blog. All glory goes to Jesus Christ though!

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013

    Categories

    All